S P Nanda takes over as OERC chairman

15 Oct

BHUBANESWAR: Senior bureaucrat Satya Prakash Nanda on Tuesday took oath as the chairman of the Orissa Electricity Regulatory Commission (OERC).

�Governor M C Bhandare administered oath of the office and secrecy to Nanda who was a member of the Board of Revenue at Cuttack.

�Nanda succeeded B K Das whose tenure ended recently. Nanda, whose retirement from the government service was due in March 2012, had recently opted for voluntary retirement. He has served as Development Commissioner and Secretary in the Industry, Science and Technology, Forest and Environment and Higher Education departments respectively. He has also served as managing director of IDCO and OSFC.

�On the occasion, Nanda said that the ultimate aim of the power sector reforms was to deliver goods to the consumer. He called for efficient and innovative approach to billing and revenue collection which would reduce AT&C loss.

He also suggested that there should be self-assessment of electricity consumption and easy payment of bills through ECS to reduce logistics problems in meter reading, preparing and delivering bills to 30 lakh consumers in the State.Among others, Minister of State for Energy Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak attended the swearing-in ceremony.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: